Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, StaffordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Part of this parish is in Derbyshire. See also Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, Derbyshire.|
BURTON-UPON-TRENT (St. Mary and St. Modwena), a parish, and the head of a union, partly in the N. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, and partly in the hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby; comprising the township of Winshill, in Derbyshire, and the townships of Branson, Burton-Extra, Horninglow, and Stretton. A church was built at Stretton in 1829. There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists, Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists. 
Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in Derbyshire and partly in Staffordshire; Created in 1825 from Burton upon Trent [St Mowden] Ancient Parish (Staffordshire). Other places in the parish include: Horninglow, Stretton near Burton upon Trent, and Strettone. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity include: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and Independent/Congregational.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity was fromed in 1825 from part of Burton upon Trent St Modwen, Staffordshire and parts of Horninglow, Stretton and Winshill,Staffordshire Ecclesiastical parishes. Abolished in 1969 and returned to Burton upon Trent St Modwen, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)|
|BURTON UPON TRENT HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1601) Online Records|
Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 452-460. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
- ↑ http://maps.familysearch.org/
- ↑ 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 3 March 2014, at 22:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,596 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More