Buxted, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Contents

Parish History

BUXTED (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Uckfield, hundred of Loxfield-Dorset, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 1¾ mile (N. N. E.) from Uckfield A district church was erected at Hadlow Down, in 1836. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Buxted is an Ancient Parish in East Sussex and has other churches within the parish boundary.

The old parish church of St Margaret of Scotland within Buxted Park has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Buxted St Margaret of Scotland, East Sussex.jpg

The Church of St Mary replaced this old church and is in the village centre and was consecrated in 1887

Buxted St Mary, East Sussex.jpg

The parish church of Holy Trinity High Hurstwood dates from 1870-1871 and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building  and was formed from this Ancient Parish. See High Hurstwood Holy Trinity, Sussex

Buxted Methodist Church was built in 1907

Buxted Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See Also Buxted Wikipedia a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details

To apply for certificates please contact:
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Buxted, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
Buxted, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1881


BOYD
1567-1750

IGI 1568-1881 1568-1880
SOPC Undisclosed
Undisclosed

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Buxted Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Buxted

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Uckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

References

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 462-467. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,233 times.