Caerwys, Flintshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Caerwys, Flintshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngCaerwys

A guide to genealogy in Caerwys, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Caerwys is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

Contents

History

In 1812 - Caerwys, a small market town containing, according to the returns made to Parliament, 162 houses, and 773 inhabitants. ... It having been a Roman station, and afterwards a seat of judicature: the assize, or great sessions for the county of Flint being held for several centuries at this place." [From North Wales, Rev. J. Evans, 1812]

It contains the townships of Tref Edwyn, Tre-dre, Bryngwyn Ucha and Bryngwyn Isa.

For more information on Caerwys see: Genuki - Caerwys

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464325.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 716 times.