Cahuilla IndiansEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Cahuilla Indians

Cahuilla Indian woman, Edward S. Curtis Collection People.jpg
Guide to Cahuilla Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

Tribal Headquarters

Cahuilla Band of Mission Indians
P. O. Box 391760
Anza, CA 92539-1760
Phone: 1.909.763.5549
Fax: 1.909.763.2808

History

Brief Timeline

1774: contact with Spanish colonizers

1822: During the Mexican Revolution, Mexico took the Mission land from Spain

1848: United States took control of California

1849: Gold Rush

1863: Smallpox epidemic, kills many

Reservations

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America.

Bands of the Cahuilla Tribe and Their Reservations

Agua Caliente Band -- Agua Caliente Reservation

Augustine Band -- Augustine Reservation

Cabazon Band -- Cabazon Reservation

Cahuilla Band -- Cahuilla Reservation

Los Coyotes Band -- Los Coyotes Reservation

Morongo Band -- Morongo Reservation

Ramona Band or Village -- Ramona Rancheria

Santa Rosa Band -- Santa Rosa Reservation

Torres-Martinez Band -- Torres-Martinez Reservation

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

  • California Indians and Their Reservations: An Online Dictionary. Available online.

See For Further Reading.

References

  • Bean, Lowell John. The Cahuilla Indians of Southern California, Their History and Culture. Banning, Ca. Maueum Press, 1975. FHL Book 970.1 Al #82



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 August 2015, at 19:03.
  • This page has been accessed 4,517 times.