Caio, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Caio, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCaio

A guide to genealogy in Caio, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Caio is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

CAYO, otherwise CYNWYL-GAIO, a parish, in the union of LLANDOVERY, higher division of the hundred of CAYO, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 8 miles (N.W. by N.) from Llandovery. From the discovery of numerous relics of Roman antiquity, it was undoubtedly known to the Romans, and was probably occupied by them. According to tradition it not only took its name from a Roman called Caius, but a large town was erected here by that people, the houses of which, being chiefly of brick, obtained for it the name of Y Drêv gôch yn Neheubarth, or the "Red Town in South Wales. The rivers Cothy and Twrch unite in this parish, and the road from Llandovery to Lampeter passes through it. The church, dedicated to St. Cynwyl, is a spacious structure, in the early style of English architecture, with a square embattled tower. There were anciently chapels of ease at Court-y-Cadno, in the north-eastern part of the parish, at Henllan, at Landre, and at Pump Saint, of which there are no vestiges. There are two places of worship each for Baptists and Methodists, and one for [[Independents.[1]

For more information on Caio see Caio at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464308.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Caio at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 228-238. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,019 times.