Caldbeck, Cumberland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Caldbeck, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Allerdale below Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Wigton|
|Registration District||Penrith; Wigton|
|Parish registers: 1657|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
CALDBECK (St. Kentigern), a parish, in the union of Wigton, Allerdale ward below Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 8 miles (S. E.) from Wigton. There are meetinghouses for the Society of Friends.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers forCaldbeck, 1648-1952 at the FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Caldbeck, 1663-1865 at the FHL
- Society of Friends/Quaker - Marriages, births and burials, 1656-1795 at the FHL Marriages, births and burials, 1776-1837 at the FHL
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241278.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Caldbeck on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2015, at 14:06.
- This page has been accessed 2,735 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News