Caldwell, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Caldwell, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Caldwell, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Caldwell, Derbyshire
Caldwell St Giles Derbyshire.jpg
Caldwell St Giles Derbyshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent PLU
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartshorn
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Burton upon Trent
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Caldwell St Giles is a former chapelry of Stapenhill, Derbyshire St Peter.

CAULDWELL, a chapelry, in the parish of Stapenhill, union of Burton-upon-Trent, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 5¼ miles (S. by E.) from Burton. The chapel is dedicated to St. Giles, and is a small structure with a tower. The Baptists have a place of worship.[1].

CAULDWELL, a hamlet in Stapenhill parish, Derby; 4 miles NNE of Burton-upon-Trent. It has a post office under Burton-upon-Trent, and a Baptist chapel.[2].

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.


Church records

Caldwell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Caldwell  St Giles (1899) Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Caldwell St Giles was licensed for marriages in 1899; it is necessary to examine registers for Stapenhill, Derbyshire for earlier baptisms and burials.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D1283 has deposited registers Bap see Stapehill Mar 1899-1978 Banns 1899-1952

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • General Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Dictrict
  • Burton upon Trent

Staffordshire BMD  includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District.

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Caldwell on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 534-538. Date accessed: 01 July 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 1 July 2103.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,978 times.