Caledonia County, Vermont GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Caledonia County, Vermont)

Guide to Caledonia County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Caledonia County


{{{link}}}

Caledonia County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Caledonia County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded November 5, 1792
County Seat Saint Johnsbury
Courthouse
Address Caledonia County Courthouse
Mailing: P.O. Box 4129
Saint Johnsbury , VT 05819
27 Main Street, St. Johnsbury, VT
802-748-3813
802-748-6600
Fax: 802-748-6603
Caledonia County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records; County Clerk has divorce and court records from from 1797; Probate Judge has probate records.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Barnet 1763,
Burke 1782,
Cabot 1780,
Danville 1786,
Groton 1789,
Hardwick 1781,
Lyndon 1780,
Peacham 1763,
Ryegate 1763,
Sheffield 1793,
St. Johnsbury 1785,
Sutton 1782,
Walden 1780,
Waterford 1781,
Wheelock 1785[1]
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Caledonia County, Vermont
  

Quick Facts

Parent County

5 November 1792: from Orange County.[1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places / Localities

VermontCaledonia CountyOrange CountyWashington CountyLamoille CountyOrleans CountyEssex CountyNew HampshireCoos CountyGrafton CountyGrotonPeachamDanvilleWaldenHardwickStannardWheelockSheffieldSuttonNewarkBurkeLyndonKirbySaint JohnsburyWaterfordBarnetRyegateNewburyBradfordCorinthWashingtonOrangeTopshamBarrePlainfieldEast MontpellerMarshfieldCalaisCabotWoodburyElmoreWolcottEdenCraftsburyGreensboroGloverAlbanyIrasburgBartonBrowningtonCharlestonWestmoreLowellBrightonFerdinlandEast Haven, VermontGranbyVictoryLunenburgConcordDaltonLittletonMonroeLymanLisbonSugar HillFranconiaLincolnWoodstockBentonHaverhillBathLandaffEastonBethlehem
Modern town borders in Caledonia County, Vermont.

Towns

Extinct Towns:   · Bradleyvale  · Hopkinsville[2]

Villages:  · Lyndonville  · West Burke

Neighboring Counties:  · Essex  · Lamoille  · Orange  · Orleans  · Washington  · New Hampshire county: Grafton

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Biography

Cemeteries

Church Records

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

  • Jeffrey, William H. Successful Vermonters; a modern gazetteer of Caledonia, Essex, and Orleans Counties. East Burke, Vermont, The Historical Publishing Company, 1904. Internet Archives.

  • Child, Hamilton Gazetteer of Caledonia and Essex Counties, Vt. 1764-1887. Caledonia County, Vermont, Syracuse Journal Company, Printers and Binders, 1887. Google Books.

Land and Property

Maps

Vtcalendonia.jpg

Military History and Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies G and H

Newspapers

The Caledonian : (St. Johnsbury, Vermont) 1837-1867, A.G. Chadwick. Dates of publication:1837-1867. Published weekly.

St. Johnsbury Caledonian. (St. Johnsbury, Vermont) 1867-1919. C.M. Stone & Co. Dates of publication:1867-1919. Published weekly.

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for the following Vermont certificates:

Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Caledonia County Historical Societies

Barnet Historical Society
26 Goodwillie Road
Barnet Center, VT
Mailing Address: 802 Warden Road
Barnet, VT 05821
Phone: (802) 633-2325
E-mail:davewarden37@hotmail.com

Burke Historical Society
White School House Museum
East Burke, VT
c/o Burke Mountain Club, PO Box 309,
East Burke, VT 05832
Phone: (802) 626-9823

Danville Historical Society
Choate-Sias Historical House
121 Hill St.
Danville, VT
PO Box 274
Danville, VT 05828
Phone: (802) 684-2055
Email Address:historicalsociety.director.dan@gmail.com
Website

Groton Historical Society
Peter Paul 1840 House
1203 Scott Highway
Groton, VT
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 89
Groton, VT 05046
Phone: (802) 584-3417

Hardwick Historical Society
Hardwick Depot
Depot Street (off Church Street behind Town House)
Hardwick, VT
Mailing Address: PO Box 177
Hardwick, VT 05843
Email Address:hardwickhistoricalsociety@myfairpoint.net
Phone: (802) 472-8555

Lyndon Historical Society
Shores Memorial Museum
202 Center Street
Lyndon Center, VT
Mailing Address: PO Box 85, Lyndon Center
VT 05850
Phone: (802) 626-9321
Email:warden960a@charter.net
Website

Peacham Historical Association
Historical House
153 Church Street
Peacham, VT
Asbel Goodenough Blacksmith Shop
101 Church Street
Peacham, VT
Peacham Hollow Schoolhouse
Archives & Reference Library
643 Bayley-Hazen Road
Peacham, VT
Mailing Address: PO Box 101
Peacham, VT 05862
Email:info@peachamhistorical.org
Website

Ryegate Historical Society
Whitelaw Hall
54 Paper Mill Road
East Ryegate, VT
Mailing Address: 3158 N. Bayley Hazen Rd
East Ryegate, VT 05402
Email:doverford@gmail.com or mosquito@fairpoint.net
Phone: (802) 592-3378

Saint Johnsbury History & Heritage Center
Lower Level of the former Summer Street School
481 Summer Street
St. Johnsbury, VT
Mailing Address: PO Box 223
St. Johnsbury, VT05819
Email:ppearl47@gmail.com
Phone: (802) 424-1090
Website

Sheffield Historical Society
Municipal Building
37 Dane Road
Sheffield, VT
Mailing Address: PO Box 75
Sheffield, VT 05866
Phone: (802) 626-9416
Email:edrichardson@juno.com

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caledonia County, Vermont, 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 February 2016, at 01:50.
  • This page has been accessed 13,668 times.