Calstone Wellington, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Calstone Wellington, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Calstone Wellington, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Calstone Wellington, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Calne
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Calne PLU
Registration District Calne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1760
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606; 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Avebury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CALSTONE-WELLINGTON (St. Mary), a parish,in the parliamentary borough, union, and hundred of Calne, Chippenham and Calne, and N. divisions ofWilts, 3 miles (S. E. by E.) from Calne.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Calstone Wellington, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Calstone Wellington, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1760-1863
1760-1836 (gaps)

IGI 1760-1836
NIM 1606-1840
1605-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.



Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 474-479. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2015, at 11:12.
  • This page has been accessed 2,421 times.