Calumet County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Calumet County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Calumet County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Calumet County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Chilton
Courthouse
Address Calumet County Courthouse
 206 Court Street
Chilton, WI 53014-1198
Phone. 920.849.1458
WI Calumet.png


Contents

Historical Facts

1836--Calumet County was created 7 December 1836 from Brown County. County seat: Chilton [1]

Populated Places

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

  • 1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Land and Property

1856-1923: General Index to Deeds and Mortgages

1840-1902: Deeds and Mortgages

1849-1980: Tax Rolls  available at:


Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone:(920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu

Website:  www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/

Facebook:  University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Calumet County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Calumet County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company A
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Records 1850-1955 are housed at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Name Searchable Index Available online at:  http://webapps.uwgb.edu/collections/
Citizenship Record Request form located on our website at:  http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/
 

Newspapers

Obituaries

Appleton Public Library Obituary Index: Appleton is situated on the Fox River, in Outagamie, Calument and Winnebago counties.

  • Partial index to obituaries and death notices published in Appleton newspapers. There are complete records for 1853-71; 1874; 1920-22; 1939-42; 1944; 1948-52; 1958-1960; 1970; 1980; 1981; 1992-94, and January 1, 2001 to December 6, 2011. Some records from 1848; 1875; 1889; 1899; 1923; 1930; 1945; 1954; 1957; 1969; 1971-73; 1981; 1982; 1987; and 1991 have been indexed.

Probate Records

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Archives

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Libraries

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Wisconsin, Calumet County New Holstein Public Library Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

School Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Pre-1907 Birth, Death, and Marriage registrations available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Birth, Death, and Marriage Request Forms available at:  http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/
 

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Voter Registration

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 23:17.
  • This page has been accessed 6,190 times.