Cambridge, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cambridge, Cambridgeshire)

Englandgo to Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.pngCambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Cambridge, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge Skyline.jpg
Cambridge Skyline.
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1635
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CAMBRIDGE, is a university town, the capital of Cambridgeshire. It stands on the Via Devana, the river Cam, and the Eastern Counties railway, 51 miles by road, and 57½ by railway, N by E of London. The railways go from it in six directions, toward London, Hitchin, Bedford, Huntingdon, Ely, and Ipswich, and toward all parts of the kingdom.

The parishes and chapels within the city and parish boundary are as follows:

Other places of worship in 1851 were Independents, Baptists, Wesleyan Methodists, Primitive Methodists, Latter-Day Saints, and Roman Catholics.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241230.


Church Records

There are online transcriptions available for Ashton in Makerfield St Thomas and its chapel of ease, Downall Green Holy Trinity (Garswood-End).

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex
CFHS = Cambridgeshire Family History Society


CAMBRIDGE ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1876 1539-1876
None
FMP None
None
FREG


CFHS
1538-1950
1538-1950
1539-1950
JOIN
None
1538-1812

  CAMBRIDGE HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1566) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1664-1864 None None
JOIN None
None None
CFHS 1566-1950 1564-1950 1568-1950
CAMBRIDGE ST ANDREW THE GREAT (1600) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1600-1867 1600-1837
None
CFHS
1538-1950
1538-1950
1538-1950
JOIN
None
1600-1837

  CAMBRIDGE ST ANDREW THE LESS (1599) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1729 None None
JOIN None
1599-1837 None
CFHS
1599-1950
1599-1950
1599-1950
  CAMBRIDGE ST BENEDICT (1539) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1700-1803 None None
JOIN None
1539-1837 None
CFHS
1539-1925
1539-1950
1539-1943
CAMBRIDGE ST BOTOLPH (1564) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1876 1539-1876
None
CFHS
1564-1950
[1]
1564-1950
1564-1950
JOIN
None
1564-1814

  CAMBRIDGE ST CLEMENT (1560) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
JOIN None
1560-1837 None
CFHS
1567-1950
1560-1950
1560-1950
CAMBRIDGE ST EDWARD (1558) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1876 1539-1876
None
CFHS
1538-1950
1558-1950
1558-1950
JOIN
None
1558-1837

  CAMBRIDGE ST GILES (1585) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
JOIN None
1585-1837 None
CAMBRIDGE ST MARY THE GREAT (1559) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1876 1539-1876
None
CFHS
1538-1950


JOIN
None
1559-1837

  CAMBRIDGE ST MARY THE LESS (1557) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
JOIN None
1557-1837 None
CFHS 1557-1950 1557-1950 1557-1950
  CAMBRIDGE ST MICHAEL (1539) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
JOIN None
1539-1837 None
CFHS 1538-1950 1539-1950 1539-1948
CAMBRIDGE ST PAUL CHAPELRY (1845) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1845-1876 1845-1876
None
CFHS
1538-1950


JOIN
None
None
None
  CAMBRIDGE ST PETER (1586) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
JOIN None
1586-1758 None
CAMBRIDGE HOLY SEPULCHRE (1569) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1571-1868 1569-18
None
CFHS
1571-1950
1569-1950
1567-1950
JOIN
None
1569-1812

                                               BARNWELL CHAPEL (1600 - see St Andrew the Less)
                                               HOLY TRINITY NEWTOWN CHAPELRY (1841) Indexes     
FS
None
None
None
JOIN
None
None
None

Other important considerations:

The baptisms and marriages for most of the Cambridge parishes are online. Barnwell Chapelry was annexed as a chapel of ease, commencing in 1826 to St Andrew the Less. If you are searching for ancestry in 1826, be certain to include a search in especially St Andrew the Less Parish.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cambridge on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Adapted. Accessed 16 January 2014.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 479-497. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 January 2016, at 06:48.
  • This page has been accessed 5,301 times.