Cambridge St Clement, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Cambridge St Clement, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge St Clement, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office


Parish History

Cambridge St Clement. A parish in Cambridge and one of the 14 parishes in Cambridge. The church of St. Clement was restored in 1855.[1]

Cambridge St Clement. A parish in Cambridge.[2]

History of Cambridge; Units and statistics.[3]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

FS =
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex
CFHS = Cambridgeshire Family History Society

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1567-1861 None None
1560-1837 None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches


Census records

Information on these records is available on the Wiki page for Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Cambridge St Clement on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 479-497. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 December 2014.
  2. Genuki Website. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 December 2014.
  3. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 December 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2015, at 02:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,755 times.