Cambridge St Peter, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Cambridge St Peter, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge St Peter, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Cambridge PLU
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1586; For more records see Cambridge St Giles
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Cambridge St Peter, a parish in Cambridge and one of the 14 parishes in Cambridge. The church of St. Peter, now disused, includes Roman bricks, and has a Norman door. St. Peter's College, commonly called Peter-house, was founded in 1257, by Hugh de Balsham, Bishop of Ely.[1]

Cambridge St Peter, a parish in Cambridge.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex
  CAMBRIDGE ST PETER (1586) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
JOIN None
1586-1758 None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241222.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cambrdige St Peter on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, published London: 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 December 2014.
  2. Genuki, Genuki Website. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 December 2014.

|}


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 May 2015, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,677 times.