Shaftesbury St Rumbold, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cann, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Shaftesbury St Rumbold, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shaftesbury St Rumbold, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sixpenny-Handley
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Shaftesbury PLU
Registration District Shaftsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1732
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CANN, or Shaston-St. Rumbold, a parish in Shaftesbury district, Dorset; on the verge of the county, 1¼ mile SE of Shaftesbury, and 4¼ SSE of Semley railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Shaftesbury St Rumbold, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1560
1560
1560
Images
1560-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1850-1879 Ancestry[3] 1900-1979 Ancestry[4]
Indexes 1739-1837 Joiner[5]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241344.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 09 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 March 2015, at 18:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,706 times.