Canvey Island, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Canvey Island, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Canvey Island, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Canvey Island, Essex
Former St Katharine Canvey Island contributor Ron Galliers.jpg
Former St Katharine Canvey Island contributor Ron Galliers
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barstable; Rochford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Rochford PLU
Registration District Billericay; Rochford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1819
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

CANVEY ISLAND, is a chapelry, partly in the parishes ofNorth and South Benfleet, BowersGifford, Laindon, Pitsea, and Vange, in the union of Billericay, the hundred of Barstable, and partly in the parishes of Leigh, Prettlewell, and Southchurch,  which are in the union and hundred of Rochford, S. division of Essex: the chapel is 6¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Leigh. This island is situated near the mouth of the Thames, . the chapel is dedicated to St. Catherine.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Canvey Island Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1819
1813
1813
Images 1819-1972 EssexAncestors[2] 1813-1938 EssexAncestors[2] 1861-1957 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes



1813-1938 findmypast[3]
Non-Conformist Churches

Dutch Church

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.


Poor Law Unions

Rochford Poor Law Union, Essex 1880 onwards

Orsett Poor Law Union, Essex 1837-1880

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Canvey Island on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: Date Accessed 10 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 April 2015, at 15:05.
  • This page has been accessed 3,956 times.