Cape Girardeau County, Missouri GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Cape Girardeau County

Guide to Cape Girardeau County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Cape Girardeau County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 1, 1812
County Seat Jackson
Courthouse
Address Cape Girardeau County Courthouse
1 Barton Square
Jackson, MO 63755
Phone: 573.243.3547
County Website

Contents

County Courthouse




County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893
and land records 1821-1859; County Recorder has
marriage records; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and 
court records; Probate Judge has probate records;
Riversize Regional Library  has all records on microfilm[1]

History

Cape Girardeau County predates the state of Missouri which was admitted to the union in 1821. Cape Girardeau was one of the five original districts of the Louisiana Territory from 1805-1812 and one of the five original counties of the Missouri Territory from 1812 to 1821.

Parent County

1812--Cape Girardeau County was created 1 October 1812 as an original county.
County seat: Jackson [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Alexander County, Illinois  • Bollinger  • Perry  • Scott  • Stoddard  • Union County, Illinois

Cape Girardeau CountySte. Genevieve CountyPerry CountySt. Francois CountyScott CountyBollinger CountyMississippi CountyStoddard CountyWayne CountyMadison CountyNew Madrid CountyAlexander CountyPulaski CountyButler CountyUnion CountyJohnson CountyWilliamson CountySaline CountyMassac CountyBallard CountyPope CountyJackson CountyCarlisle CountyMcCracken CountyGraves CountyHickman CountyMOCape Girardeau.jpg


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Evangelical

Christ Evangelical Church

  • 1891-1914 - Christ Evangelical Church Baptism Index 1891-1914. Batch C726741 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1900-1914 - Christ Evangelical Church Marriage Index 1900-1914. Batch M726741 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Emmanuel Evangelical Church, Jackson

  • 1884-1909 - Emmanuel Evangelical Church, Jackson, Baptism Index 1884-1909. Batch C726701 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1884-1910 - Emmanuel Evangelical Church, Jackson, Marriage Index 1884-1910. Batch M726701 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

St. James Evangelical Church, Tilsit

  • 1892-1973 - St. James Evangelical Church, Tilsit, Baptism Index 1892-1973. Batch C726711 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1892-1970 - St. James Evangelical Church, Tilsit, Marriage Index 1892-1970. Batch M726711 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Salem Evangelical Church

  • 1874-1898 - Salem Evangelical Church Baptism Index 1874-1898. Batch C726731 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874-1895 - Salem Evangelical Church Marriage Index 1874-1895. Batch M726731 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of southeast Missouri. Embracing an historical account of the counties of Ste. Genevieve, St. Francois, Perry, Cape Girardeau, Bollinger, Madison, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Dunklin, Scott, Mississippi, Stoddard, Butler, Wayne and Iron. Chicago, The Goodspeed publishing co., 1888.

Maps

Mocape girardeau.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Cape Girardeau County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Cape Girardeau County.


- 2nd Regiment, Illinois Light Artillery, Battery F.



- 12th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
:- 12th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
:- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
:- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
:- 30th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
:- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company K
:- 12th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company K
:- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company K
:- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- Engineer Regiment of the West, Missouri Volunteers (Union), Company G

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Cape Girardeau County

Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1866-1871 - Cape Girardeau County Birth Index, Volume D, 1866-1871. Batch C514722 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1805-1868 - Cape Girardeau County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1805-1868. Batch M514721 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1868-1885 - Cape Girardeau County Marriage Books D and E Index 1868-1885. Batch M514722 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1893 - Cape Girardeau County Death Index 1883-1893. Batch B514723 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Cape Girardeau County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Cape Girardeau County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Cape Girardeau County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cape Girardeau County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:24.
  • This page has been accessed 14,919 times.