Cardiganshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Cardiganshire Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Historic CardiganshireMerionethshire, to the east by Montgomeryshire, Radnorshire and Breconshire, and to the south by Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. The county was created in the 1240s. The administrative county of Cardiganshire, with an elected county council, was created in 1889 by the Local Government Act 1888. The county was governed by an elected county council, who took over the functions of the Quarter Sessions courts. Aberaeron and Aberystwyth were joint county towns.
Motto: Golud Gwlad Rhyddid (English: A nation's wealth is freedom)
Chapman Code: CGN
- Parish: an area of varying size under the responsibility of a clergyman of the Church of England/Church in Wales
- Hundred: an administrative subdivision of a county, usually a group of two or more parishes
- Sub-district: comprised of more than one civil parish
- Poor Law Union
See a list of the parishes in Cardiganshire here.
- Cardiganshire Resources and Help pages RootsChat Cardiganshire Resources and Help pages. (Free).
- Cardiganshire Family History Society (Web)
- Cardiganshire Family History Society (Facebook)
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:20.
- This page has been accessed 5,370 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News