Carleton (Great and Little), Lancashire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Carleton is a village on the coastal plain of the Fylde in Lancashire, England. It consists of Great Carleton, Little Carleton and Norcross and is situated close to the market town of Poulton-le-Fylde. Nearby settlements include Thornton, Bispham and Blackpool. Historically, Carleton was in the parish of Poulton le Fylde, Lancashire
Carleton was listed in the Domesday Book of 1086 as Carlentun.The name usually means "farmstead or estate of the freemen or peasants", derived from the Old Scandinavian word karl and the Old English word tūn. Its area was estimated in that survey to be four carucates of land and it was owned by Earl Tostig.In the 12th century, Carelton was owned by Gilbert Fitz Reinfred, and in the 13th century, by Emma de St. John.
The shared church site of St Hilda of Whitby (Church of England) 1998 and St Martin de Porres (Roman Catholic) 1963 is in Fleetwood Road Carleton.
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.
CARLETON (Great and Little), a township in Poulton-le-Fylde parish, Lancashire; adjacent to the Blackpool railway, 1 mile SW of Poulton. Acres, 1,979. Real property, £3,905. Pop., 363. Houses, 76.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Stocks Lane Cemetery see http://www.interment.net/data/eng/lancashire/carleton/ for online Cemetery and Crematorium listings.
Carleton Cemetery opened in 1935, on land off Stocks Lane, bought from Carleton Lodge. The foundation stone had been laid by the Mayor on the 5th of February 1934, and the Crematorium, Chapel and Garden of Remembrance were opened on the 18th of July, by Alderman Newman. The Cemetery was extended in February 1948.
Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society, 1999 Monumental Inscriptions
| Monumental inscriptions, 1911?-1998; war memorial, 1939-1945.
|| FHL BRITISH|
6414239 (15 fiche)
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Vision of Britain
- Farrer, William; Brownbill, J., eds. (1912), "Townships — Carleton", A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 7 (Constable), http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53224
- Hartwell, Clare; Pevsner, Nikolaus (2009) . Lancashire: North. New Haven and London: Yale University Press. ISBN 0300126670.
- Mills, A. D. (1998). Dictionary of English Place-Names. Oxford University Press. ISBN 0192800744.
- Porter, John (1876). History of the Fylde of Lancashire. W. Porter.
- Storey, Christine (2001). Poulton-le-Fylde. Stroud: Tempus Publishing. ISBN 0752424424.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
http://www.achurchnearyou.com/carleton-st-hilda-of-whitby/ for details about the combined churches.
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53224 British History online
- This page was last modified on 11 March 2015, at 19:48.
- This page has been accessed 1,378 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News