Carlton, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Carlton, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Carlton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Carlton, Durham
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton PLU
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Redmarshall
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CARLTON, a township in Redmarshall parish, Durham; on the Clarence *-railway, 4 miles NW of Stockton-upon-Tees. It has a station on the -railway.[1]

Additional information:

Carlton is a chapelry in Redmarshall, Durham Ancient Parish in Durham.

Carlton is a village and civil parish within the borough of Stockton-on-Tees.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

It is necessary to examine the  Redmarshall, Durham and  Stillington, Durham parishes and transcripts for Carlton.Parish transcripts are available at FamilySearch Historical Records.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241357.


Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Carlton (see Stillington) on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 March 2015, at 15:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,447 times.