Carlton Curlieu, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Carlton Curlieu, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Carlton Curlieu, Leicestershire
St Mary Carlton Curlieu Leicestershire.jpg
St Mary Carlton Curlieu Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gartree
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Billesdon PLU
Registration District Billesdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1749
Bishop's Transcripts: 1572
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gartree
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CARLTON-CURLIEU (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Billesdon, hundred of Gartree, S. division of the county of Leicester, 7½ miles (N. N. W.) from Market-Harborough; containing the chapelry of Ilston-on-the-Hill, There is a chapel of ease at Ilston. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Carlton Curlieu like this:

CARLTON-CURLIEW, a village and a parish in Billesdon district, Leicester. The village stands on an affluent of the river Welland, 2 miles NE of Kibworth r. station, and 7½ NNW of Market-Harborough.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Carlton Curlieu, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Carlton Curlieu, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1571-1910
1571-1910
1571-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Carlton Curlieu Bap 1749 - 1812 Marr 1749 - 1811; 1819 - 1835 Bur 1749 - 1808

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438741.


Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 520-523. Date accessed: 04 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,621 times.