Carlton in Lindrick, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Carlton in Lindrick, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Carlton in Lindrick, Nottinghamshire
Carlton in Lindrick St John the Evangelist Nottinghamshire.jpg
Carlton in Lindrick St John the Evangelist Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Worksop PLU
Registration District Worksop
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CARLTON-IN-LINDRICK (St. John), a parish, in the union of Worksop, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3¾ miles (N. by E.) from Worksop in the north and south divisions. [1]

Additional information:

The late Saxon origins of the Church of St John the Evangelist and it's Ancient Parish are reflected in the listing as a grade I listed building designated by English Heritage. British listed building Southwell and Nottingham Church History project Carlton in Lindrick

See also Carlton in Lindrick Wikipedia

Resources

Cemetery

Carlton Old Burial Ground, Carlton Square.  A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions, dating from 1812, giving surname, given names, date of death and age.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 57, pages 29-30, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District

Church records

Carlton in Lindrick, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Carlton in Lindrick, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undisclosed

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Carlton in Lindrick

Carlton in Lindrick - St. John the Evangelist.  A transcription of the Church yard Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1765, giving surname, given name, date of death and age.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine, vol. 87, pages 18-40, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438900.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Carlton in Lindrick in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/CarltoninLindrick/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 21 January 2015.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 March 2015, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,643 times.