Carluke, Lanarkshire, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Lanarkshire Gotoarrow.png Carluke

Carluke (#629)

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Carluke.  To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

Contents

History

CARLUKE, a parish, in the Upper ward of the county of Lanark; including the villages of Braidwood, Kilcadzow, and Yieldshields; 5 miles (N. N. W.) from Lanark. The name appears to have been derived from the word Caer, signifying " a hill," and Luac, "Luke," in reference to the dedication of the church, and to the elevated site of the parish. The church, which is a substantial building, containing 1000 sittings, was built in 1799. There are places of worship for members of the Relief and Associate Synods.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for [parish]. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Click here for a list of the Family History Library (FHL) microfilm numbers for the census records of Carluke.

Below is information for any known surname indexes:

Years Surname Index           
1841 Ancestry.com ($)
1851 FHL CD-ROM no. 1850
1861 FHL 6205850
1871 Ancestry.com ($)
1881 FHL 6086616 ( 41 fiche)
1891 Ancestry.com ($)
1901 Ancestry.com ($)

All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee.  It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish with their Family History Library call number.

Established Church—Old Parochial Records

Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1690-1820 1042968 item 4
1819-1854 1042969 items 1-2
Marriages: 1694-1738 1042969 items 1-2
1694-1809 0102892in vault
1838-1854 1042969items 1-2
Deaths: 1697-1809, 1838-1854 0102892in vault
1728-1778, 1838-1851 1042969 items 1-2

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers.  Some records may be indexed in theInternational Genealogical Index. 
Births: There are only four entries prior to September 1694. Mothers’ names are not recorded until December 1739.
Marriages: There are marriage proclamations 1694–May 1738. There is also a register of consignation money or of proclamation fees from 1696–1774, mixed with entries of Mortcloth Dues. There are few entries February 1774–October 1783, after which date there are entries of proclamation. There are no marriage entries February 1809–1838.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues 1697–1783 and burials 1783–1809 intermixed with proclamation fees, etc. There is a separate record of deaths January 1728–March 1738 and of burials January 1750–September 1778. The record is blank March 1809–1838.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1645–1662, 1694–1898
Proclamations 1854–1873
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/56.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

Carluke Free Church

History—
This congregation was formed by seven members who “came out” at the Disruption. Regular services were provided from July 1843. The charge was sanctioned in May 1844. The church was erected in 1844 and a manse some years later. A new church was built in 1864 and a new manse in 1893. The population of the district increased but new congregations formed at Crossford and Law affected the growth of membership.
Membership: 1848, 240– 1900, 491.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Family History Library Film#918572. More details may be given in the source including a list of ministers.

Records—
The extent of records is unknown.

Carluke, Kirkton Relief, later United Presbyterian Church

History—
Due to a concern for the rigid political beliefs of the parish minister of Carluke in the early 1830s, certain members of the Established Church congregation withdrew and applied to the Relief Presbytery of Hamilton to be taken under their inspection as a forming congregation, which was granted. The congregation was organized in April1833. The church was built that year. In 1839, the membership was 874. In 1847 this congregation joined the United Presbyterian Church.
Source: Annals and Statistics of the United Presbyterian Church, by Rev. William MacKelvie, D.D., pub. 1873. Family History Library Film #477618. More details may be given in the source including a list of ministers.

Records—                                Family History Library Film Number
Baptisms            1832–1869      0889484 item 1
Proclamations    1834–1836      0889484 item 1
Deaths               1835–1837       0889484 item 1
Roll of Members 1834–1839
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/459.

Carluke Congregational Church

History—
This church was formed in October 1846 as a result of revival services held in the district. The church joined the Evangelical Union in 1858. The congregation first met in the Commercial Hall in Kirkton Street. The first church opened at the Wee Moss in August 1851. A new church was built in High Street, Carnwath Road in 1882.
Source: A History of Scottish Congregationalism by Harry Escott, pub. 1960. Family History Library Book 941 K2es. This book includes a list of ministers.

Records—
The extent of records is unknown. For information write to:
The United Reformed Church, Scottish Synod Office
PO Box 189
240 Cathedral Street
Glasgow G1 2BX
Scotland

Carluke Roman Catholic Church

History—
The church, dedicated to St. Athanasius, was built in 1858–1859, but the records date from 1849 because the first resident priest brought them with him from the church in Lanark. They also contain entries from Carnwath and Auchingray.
Source: Catholic Missions and Registers, 1700–1880, Vol. 6: Scotland, by Michael Gandy, pub. 1993.

Records—
Baptisms 1849–1923
Marriages 1849–1923
Note: Available online for a fee, at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk, record MP/. The original records are in the hands of the parish priest.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Carluke was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Lanark until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Glasgow. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Lanark and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Lanark.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Lanark.  Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Lanark and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 163-185. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 February 2014.

Return to the Lanarkshire parish list.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 February 2014, at 21:02.
  • This page has been accessed 3,600 times.