Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Carmarthenshire Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Historic CarmarthenshirePembrokeshire, to the north by Cardiganshire, and to the east by Breconshire and Glamorgan.
The administrative county of Carmarthenshire, with an elected county council, was created in 1889 by the Local Government Act 1888. The county was governed by an elected county council, who took over the functions of the Quarter Sessions courts. The county town was Carmarthen and other main towns were Llanelli and Ammanford.
Chapman Code: CMN
- Parish: an area of varying size under the responsibility of a clergyman of the Church of England/Church in Wales
- Hundred: an administrative subdivision of a county, usually a group of two or more parishes
- Sub-district: comprised of more than one civil parish
- Registration District
- Poor Law Union
See a list of the parishes in Carmarthenshire with links to their pages.
Did You Know?
- Llyfr Du Caerfyrddin (English: The Black Book of Carmarthen), written circa 1250, is thought to be the earliest surviving manuscript written in the Welsh language. The book contains a collection of poetry and is now held at the National Museum at Aberystwyth.
- Dylan Thomas wrote many of his major works in the Boathouse in Laugharne, set into a cliff overlooking the Tâf Estuary.
- Carmarthenshire Resources and Help pages RootsChat Carmarthenshire Resources and Help pages. (Free).
- Carmarthenshire Archive Service
- Carmarthenshire War Memorials
- 1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Things you can do
- Visit the National Botanic Garden of Wales at Llanarthne in the Tywi Valley.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:20.
- This page has been accessed 4,799 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News