Carmyllie, Angus, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Carmyllie, Angus, Scotland)

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Angus Gotoarrow.png Carmyllie

Parish #276

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Carmyllie. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.



CARMYLIE, a parish, in the county of Forfar, 6 miles (W. by N.) from Arbroath; containing the hamlet of Graystone. The name is supposed to be derived from a Celtic word, signifying "the top of a high rocky place," which description answers to a castle formerly standing here. The church, which is ancient, is conveniently situated, and is a substantial building, accommodating 500 persons. A congregation has been formed here in connexion with the Free Church.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Carmyllie, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year Family  History Library Film Number Surname Indexes
1841     1042673 fiche 6203961 (set of 4)
1851 1042217 none
1861 0103787 none
1871 0103939 none
1881 0203478 fiche 6086580 (set of 12)
1891 0208702 none

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered Family History Library Film Number
Births: 1684-1854 0993414
Marriages: 1684-1709 0993414
1728-1854 0993414
Deaths: 1723-1738 0993414

 Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: There are blank pages August 1709–November 1718 and August 1745–December 1746. Mothers’ names are not recorded until 1747.
Marriages: The record prior to 1709 is contained on parallel columns of the register of births 1684–1698. There are blank pages May1709–May 1728 and only a few entries 1734–1738. There are blank pages 1745–November 1779. There are entries of contracts or proclamations prior to 1745 and actual marriages after 1779.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes and Accounts 1684–1709, 1720–1745, 1836–1928
Members of Session 1838–1840
Discipline and Money Affairs 1771–1816
Cash Book 1817–1849
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/558

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.

Carmyllie Free Church

The minister of the parish and many of his people adhered to the Free Church at the Disruption. No site could be obtained for church or manse. They erected a wooden church, but of this they were deprived. They worshiped for a time in a tent, and then erected a second wooden church. Finally a site was secured, and church and manse erected. In sympathy with and appreciation of their gallant struggle, the Synod appointed a special collection to assist them. The minister shared in the benefits of the Dalhousie Endowment and of the Duncan fund.
Membership: 1848, 234; 1900, 189.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details may be given in the source.

Records—                                  Family History Library Microfilm Number
Baptismal Register 1843–1872      0889495 item 6
Minutes 1843–1900
Accounts 1843–1897
Communion Rolls 1843–1866
Deacons Court Minutes 1845–1901
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/492.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Carmyllie was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Brechin until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dundee. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Angus and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Brechin.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Angus. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Angus and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 499-514. Adapted. Date accessed: 30 May 2014.

Return to Angus Parishes


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 June 2015, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 2,004 times.