Carroll County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Carroll County

Guide to Carroll County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Carroll County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Carroll County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Carroll
Courthouse
Address Carroll County Courthouse
114 E. 6th St.
Carroll, Iowa 51401
Phone:(712) 792-4327
Carroll County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Carroll County Courthouse
114 E. 6th St.
Carroll, Iowa 51401

(712) 792-4327

Carroll County

History

Charles Carroll.JPG

The county is named after Charles Carroll (1737-1832), a signer of the Declaration of Independence.[1]

Parent County

1851--Carroll County was created 15 January 1851 from Pottawattamie County. It was attached to Shelby and Guthrie Counties prior to organization 17 August 1855.  County seat:  Carroll [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1886 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Audubon • Calhoun • Crawford • Greene • Guthrie • Sac • Shelby

Carroll CountyGreene CountyGuthrie CountyAudubon CountyShelby CountyCrawford CountyIda CountySac CountyCalhoun CountyWebster CountyBoone CountyDallas CountyMadison CountyAdair CountyCass CountyPottawattamie CountyHarrison CountyMonona CountyWoodbury CountyCherokee CountyBuena Vista CountyPocahontas CountyIACarroll.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Cemeteries of Carroll, Iowa
  • Index of Grave Stone Photos
  • Oak Hill Cemetery
  • Old Carrollton Cemetery
  • Union Township Cemetery
  • Gravestone pictures I have (e-mail me)  in Carroll County Iowa: Arcadia Cemetery, Saint Johns Cemetery, Our Lady of Mount, Carmel Cemetery, Saint Bernard's Cemetery, Holy Family Cemetery, East Liberty Cemetery, Immanuel Cemetery, Holy Angels Cemetery, Saint Augustine Cemetery, Saint Francis Cemetery, Oak Hill Cemetery, Old Carrollton Cemetery, Union Cemetery, Dedham Cemetery, McCurdy Cemetery, Saint Josephs Cemetery, Saint Mary's Catholic Cemetery, Dickson Cemetery, West Lawn Cemetery, Lanesboro Cemetery, Salisbury Cemetery, Sacred Heart Catholic Cemetery, Elba Cemetery, Sacred Heart Cemetery, and Wheatland Cemetery.

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Carroll County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

  • History of Carroll County, Iowa, Vol. 1 [3]is a record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement of Carroll County, Iowa.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives
  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Carroll - Probate records.

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Charles Carroll of Carrollton, Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Carroll_of_Carrollton.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. History of Carroll County Iowa, Vol. 1. Maclean, Paul. S.J. Clarke Publishing Company Google BooksWorldcat

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 April 2014, at 02:13.
  • This page has been accessed 10,671 times.