Cass County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Cass County

Guide to Cass County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Cass County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 3, 1835
County Seat Harrisonville
Courthouse
Address Cass County Courthouse
102 E Wall Street
Harrisonville, Mo 64701
Phone: 816.380.8102
Cass County Website

Contents

County Courthouse




County Clerk has birth records 1861-1896
and court records from 1843; Recorder of Deeds
has marriage, divorce and land records;
Associate Division has probate records[1]

History

Parent County

1835--Cass County was created 3 March 1855 from Jackson County. County seat: Harrisonville. [2] It was originally named Van Buren County. Its name was changed to Cass County in 1848.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bates  • Henry  • Jackson Johnson  • Johnson County, Kansas  • Miami County, Kansas

Cass CountyBates CountyVernon CountySt. Clair CountyHickory CountyBenton CountyHenry CountyLafayette CountyRay CountyPlatte CountyJackson CountyClay CountyJohnson CountyJohnson CountyPettis CountyWyandotte CountyDouglas CountyLeavenworth CountyFranklin CountyAnderson CountyAllen CountySaline CountyLinn CountyBourbon CountyMiami CountyMOCass1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Cass County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

City Directories

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cass County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A History and directory of Cass County, Missouri containing a history of the county, its towns, commercial interests, etc. by A.L. Weber (1908) is available online free from Google Books.

Maps

Mocass.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
:- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company E
:- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company A
:- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company C
:- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company D
:- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry State Guard (8th Division) - Confederate, Company A
:- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry State Guard (8th Division) - Confederate, Company B
:- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry State Guard (8th Division) - Confederate, Company C
:- 1st Battery, Missouri Light Artillery - Confederate, Also known as Henry Guibor's Light artillery Battery
:- 14th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cass County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1865-1867 - Cass County Birth Index 1865-1867. Batch C514751 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cass County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cass County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Cass County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cass County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 June 2014, at 01:34.
  • This page has been accessed 8,005 times.