Cass County, Iowa GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cass County, Iowa)

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Cass County

Guide to Cass County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records



Cass County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Cass County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Atlantic
Courthouse
Address Cass County Courthouse
7th St. Courthouse
Atlantic, IA 50022
Phone: (712) 243-2105
Cass County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Cass County Courthouse
7th St. Courthouse
Atlantic, IA 50022

(712) 243-2105

Cass County

History

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: CassCounty

Parent County

1851--Cass County was created 15 January 1851 from Pottawattamie County and organized 7 March 1853.
County seat:  Atlantic [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

March 1932 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adair • Adams • Audubon • Guthrie • Montgomery • Pottawattamie • Shelby

Cass CountyAdair CountyUnion CountyAdams CountyMontgomery CountyMills CountyPottawattamie CountyHarrison CountyShelby CountyAudubon CountyGuthrie CountyDallas CountyMadison CountyRinggold CountyTaylor CountyPage CountyFremont CountyMonona CountyCrawford CountyCarroll CountyGreene CountyCass CountySarpy CountyDouglas CountyWashington CountyBurt CountyIACass.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cass County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Compendium of history and biography of Cass County, Iowa : pioneer history and formation of present county system, patriotic war record, detailed township history, with sketches of towns, biographies of old settlers, and others who have made Cass County what it is. Chicago, Illinois : Henry Taylor, 1906.
  • History of Cass County, Iowa : together with sketches of its towns, villages and townships, portraits of prominent persons and biographies of old settlers and representative citizens; history of Iowa. Springfield, Illinois : Continental Historical Co., 1884.
  • Beard, J. C. Cass County in the World War, 1917-1918-1919. Atlantic, Iowa : J.C. Beard, 1919.
  • Chase, Charles F. Exposition souvenir album. Atlantic, Iowa : Democrat Pub. Co., 1904.

Maps

  • Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Iowa
  • David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures. This collection features the city of Cass County.

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Cass County, Iowa Genealogy for European settlers included:

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Cass County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cass County, Iowa Genealogy:


- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Cass - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Birth

Marriage

Death

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

United States Location Map

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Cass County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "cass county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "cass county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "cass county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cass County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cass County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Cass County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Cass County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Cass County Message Board

Sources and Footnotes

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
{{Iowa|Iowa}

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:25.
  • This page has been accessed 11,833 times.