Castle Camps, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Castle Caps, Cambridgeshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Castle Camps, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Castle Camps, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chilford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Linton PLU
Registration District Linton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Camps
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CASTLE-CAMPS (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Linton, hundred of Chilford, county of Cambridge, 5¾ miles (S. E. by E.) from Linton. The parish is situated near the road from Cambridge to Colchester. There is a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Castle Camps, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Castle Camps, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241223.


Poor Law Unions

Linton Poor Law Union, Cambridgeshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Castle Camps on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 526-531. Date accessed and adapted: 01 July 2013.
  2. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:43.
  • This page has been accessed 2,383 times.