Castle Combe, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Castle Combe, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Castle Combe, Wiltshire|
|Poor Law Union||Chippenham PLU|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Diocese||Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Pre-1786 - Court of the Peculiar of Castle Combe; Post-1785 Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
CASTLE-COMBE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Chippenham, Chippenham andCalne, and N. divisions of Wilts, 6½ miles (N. W. by W.)from Chippenham.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Castle Combe, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Castle Combe, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
The 1841 Census returns for Castle Combe are missing.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 220983.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 526-531. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
- ↑ 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
- This page has been accessed 3,034 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More