Castle Donington, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Castle Donington, Leicestershire|
Castle Donington St Edward Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow PLU|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1564|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
DONINGTON, CASTLE (St. Edward), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of West Goscote,N. division of the county of Leicester, 9½ miles (N. E.) from Ashby-de-la-Zouch. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Isley Walton and Isley Langley, Langley Prior, Castle Donington became part of Loughborough registration district on 1 April 1938
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Castle Donington, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Castle Donington, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Castle Donington deposited registers at Leicester Record Office Bap 1539 - 1972 Marr 1539 - 1979 (banns to 1964) Bur 1539 - 1973
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438744.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 9 June 2015, at 19:44.
- This page has been accessed 2,212 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News