Cedar County, Missouri GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cedar County, Missouri)

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Cedar County

Guide to Cedar County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records

Cedar County, Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Founded February 14, 1845
County Seat Stockton
Address Cedar County Courthouse
113 South Street
PO Box 158
Stockton, MO 65785-0126
Phone: 417.276.3514
Cedar County Website


County Information

Cedar County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1845 1883 1830 1845 1845

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1845, probate and court records[2]


Parent County

1845--Cedar County was created 14 February 1845 from Dade and St. Clair Counties. County seat: Stockton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses


Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Benton  • Dade  • Polk  • St. Clair  • Vernon

Cedar CountyPolk CountyGreene CountyLawrence CountyChristian CountyJasper CountyDade CountyBarton CountyVernon CountyBenton CountyHickory CountySt. Clair CountyBates CountyHenry CountyLinn CountyBourbon CountyCrawford CountyCherokee CountyLabette CountyNeosho CountyAllen CountyAnderson CountyMOCedar1.JPG


African American

  • 1865-1872 - Cedar County Colored Marriage Index 1865-1872. Batch M515233 at FamilySearch - free.[4]



For tips on accessing Cedar County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cedar County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Biographies from The History of Cedar County, Missouri (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.
  • Cedar County Booster. Fragmentary history of Cedar County. [S.l.] : Cedar County Booster, [1920].
  • Williams, F M. Early days in Cedar County. Kansas City, Mo. : Punton-Clark Pub. Co., 1908.




Civil War
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company M
:- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company D
:- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company D
:- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company C
:- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cedar County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

  • 1883-1889 - Cedar County Death Index 1883-1889. Batch B515235 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

  • Cedar County Historical Society
    Meetings are held the third Saturday of each month (except December) at 10:00 am at 106 Davis St., Stockton, MO
    Mailing address:
    PO Box 111
    Stockton, MO 65785

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

United States Location Map


Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cedar County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cedar County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Cedar County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Cedar County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Cedar County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Cedar County Message Board


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cedar County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 October 2015, at 23:15.
  • This page has been accessed 14,472 times.