Cedar Rapids Iowa Family History Center/2013 ConferenceEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Cedar Rapids FHC|
|4300 Trailridge Rd SE|
Cedar Rapids, IA
10:00 am – 1:00 pm
6:30 pm – 9:00 pm
9:00 am – 12:00 pm
Calendar & Events
Online Film Ordering
- Theme: Finding Your Ancestral Treasures
- Date: Saturday, October 19, 2013
- Location: Cedar Rapids Family History Center, 4300 Trailridge Rd SE, Cedar Rapids, IA
- Keynote Speakers: Art Johhson, FamilySearch.org; Michele McNabb, Danish Immigrant Museum
- Time: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. (Registration starts at 8:30 a.m.)
FREE - EVERYONE IS WELCOME TO ATTEND
Check out the schedule and class descriptions below. We'd love to have you there all day long, but if there are only a couple of classes you are interested in, please join us for those. Note: as classes are all taught by volunteer teachers, the schedule, teachers, and topics for the symposium are subject to change without notice. Please refer to the downloadable Flyer and Schedule and Description Grids via the hyperlinks near the bottom of this page below for the latest information available.
If you would like to volunteer to help out at the symposium please contact Kacy Novak at 319-362-0487 or 319-651-9416
The following schedule is subject to change:
Indexing - Giving Back
|Military Research|| Beginning Family
|Interviewing Tips and Technology|| Collaborative Genealogy
||Find the Unfindable in the Census||German Research|
|10:00|| Family History
| Strategies for
| Organizing Paper
and Photo Records
|Genetics and Genealogy|| Beginning Roots
|Danish Research - Getting Started|| United Kingdom|
|11:00||Open For Research|| Locate Live
Relatives + Those
|Break Through Brick Walls||Writing a Family History|| Beginning
and Family Tree
|Danish Research - Using Online Sources||Internet Searching|
|12:00||FamilySearch Family Tree Evolution & Danish Museum Resources|
|1:00|| Indexing - Giving Back
||Military Research|| Using Reunions for
|Google for the Genealogist||German Research|
|2:00|| Family History
|Break Through Brick Walls||Photographing Gravestones|| Intermediate
and Family Tree
|Scandinavian Research|| United Kingdom|
|3:00|| Open For Research
|| Locate Live
Relatives + Those
|Heritage Scrapbooking||Find the Unfindable in the Census||Norwegian Digital Archives|| Advanced Internet|
How to Start
Indexing - Giving Back: Type what you see in records on the screen to make them electronically
searchable. Anyone, any age can do it in 5 to 30 minutes. Help others to find their ancestors.
Family History Center Resources: What is available in the Family History Center. How these tools can help you in your researching.
Beginning Family History: Learn basics of how to get started in your research. Then learn how to search for those long lost relatives, and get “Family History Mania”.
Using Family Reunions for Family History: How to use family reunions to gather and share family memories.
Beginning Roots Magic: Introduction and how-to’s for Roots Magic. Learn ways to help organize your research and your genealogy database.
Beginning FamilySearch FamilyTree: Introduction to the FamilySearch.org web site and the Family Tree feature for Family History research.
Open for Research: Use Family History Center resources to do some of your own research. Get help from and ask questions to Family History staff on hand.
Military Research: Discover your ancestor’s contribution in our nation’s military history. Use the internet to find valuable military records, unit histories, and military campaign information that pertain to your ancestor.
Locate Live Relatives + Those Separated by Adoption: Private investigator shares tips to find living relatives including those separated by adoption when names may be unknown. Includes info on sealed records..
Brick Walls: We all have them! Break through your “Brick Walls” with these important strategies.
Newspaper Research: Learn about online and library collections of newspapers and how they can be used to make family connections.
Genetics and Genealogy: Learn how DNA can give you clues about your ancestry and how sharing information with others can help you find relatives you didn't know.
Find the Unfindable in the Census: How to get more than the obvious out of census records. Use clues in the census to gain other researching leads.
German Research: Methods and resources for researching German records to obtain Family History information.
United Kingdom Research: Methods and resources for researching records from the British Isles to obtain Family History information.
Danish Research - Getting Started: How to research Danish ancestors without knowing (much) Danish.
Danish Research - Using Online Sources: How to research Danish ancestors using online Danish genealogy archives.
Scandinavian Research: Methods and resources for researching Scandinavian records to obtain Family History information.
Norwegian Digital Archives: Using the Norwegian Digital Archive records to obtain Family History information.
Strategies for Tracing Immigrant Origins: How did your ancestors “jump the pond” to get to America? They didn’t all come through Ellis Island. Learn migration patterns and ports of choice depending on where they originated.
Retouch Digital Photos: Saving, identifying, and enhancing photos and to save memories before they are lost. Using programs available in MS windows.
Interviewing Tips and Technology: How to elicit important and fascinating details about your family history through interviews with your family and friends.
Photographing Artifacts: Photography techniques for preserving keepsakes, mementos, and other artifacts to enrich your family story.
Photographing Gravestones: Learn how to obtain the best results when photographing gravestones. Find out how you can share your photos online with others.
Collaborative Genealogy: Learn what it is, how to get people to play on your team, and how to incorporate today's internet technology in your efforts.
Google for the Genealogist: Learn many tips and secret features of the Google search engine to speed your research online.
Internet Searching: How to use browser and Windows features to use your internet research time more efficiently. Hone your search to zero in on your research subject. Develop and use a research log.
Advanced Internet Searching: Learn searching strategies, how to borrow books your library does not own, find people to gather information for you, build research logs.
Organizing Paper and Photo Records: Tips for putting those boxes of old photos, articles, and written keepsakes into an order that makes sense to you.
Writing a Family History: You have a little or a lot of family history you’ve gathered to share. But, how do you get started turning it into a for-real Family History? Come learn how.
Heritage Scrapbooking: Learn what information to include in a Heritage Scrapbook that will be enjoyed by family members of all ages.
Intermediate Roots Magic: How you can speed up the organization of your research and collecting of data. When time is short, use these tools to help you use it most effectively.
Intermediate FamilySearch Family Tree: Useful features of FamilySearch and Family Tree to ease your Family History research and record-keeping.
- This page was last modified on 23 September 2013, at 04:19.
- This page has been accessed 1,256 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More