Cedar Rapids Iowa Family History Center/Family History SymposiumEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Cedar Rapids FHC
4300 Trailridge Rd SE
Cedar Rapids, IA
10:00 am – 1:00 pm
6:30 pm – 9:00 pm
9:00 am – 12:00 pm
FHC Pages
Contact Information
Calendar & Events
2015 Symposium
Local Resources
Online Film Ordering

  • Theme: 2015 Family History Symposium
  • Date: Saturday, October 10, 2015
  • Location: Cedar Rapids Family History Center,
    4300 Trailridge Rd SE, Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Time: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. (Registration starts at 8:30 a.m.)


The Cedar Rapids Family History Center invites you to attend the 2015 Family History Symposium.  The latest schedule and class descriptions are available via the links below.  We will strive to maintain these schedules and topics up to date by placing the latest documents at the links below.  Please come back to check for any changes.

As you plan your attendance, we would love for you to enjoy the whole day.  But if there are only a couple of classes you are interested in, or your time is limited, please feel free to come join us as your time allows.  As per our usual policy, we caution you again this year that all classes are taught by volunteer teachers and the schedules, teachers, and topics for the symposium are subject to change without notice as we make adjustments according to the needs of the staff.  We will endeavor to keep the information here in line with any changes that may occur.

If you would like to volunteer to help out at the next symposium, please contact Kacy Novak at 319-362-0487 or 319-651-9416.


Symposium Schedule

The following schedule is subject to change:

1 2 3 4 5

Family History Center (free premium access)

Beginning Family History
Roots Magic - Basic
Scanning, Submitting Docs & Photos
10:00 Family History Indexing Demonstration
FamilySearch and FamilyTree
Evernote DNA
11:00 Family History Indexing Demonstration
Using Census Records
Web Site Helps
Danish Research
Social Networking
12:00 L U N C H in Gym - Skype demo to Germany for German Research.
1:00 Family History Center (free premium access)
Czech Research
Roots Magic - Intermediate

Google Earth

Rm 5
Social Networking

British Isles Research via Skype
2:00 Family History Indexing Demonstration
Using Census Records
FamilySearch FamilyTree & Fun
Danish Research
Apps for phones, tablets
3:00 Family History Indexing Demonstration
Database Comparisons
Web Site Helps
Scanning, Submitting Docs & Photos
to be announced

Class Descriptions

The cells in the grid above are color coded according to general categories to make it easier to identify related classes in the same category.

How to Start

Beginning Family History: Learn basics of how to get started in your research. Then learn how to search for those long lost relatives, and get “Family History Mania”.

 Roots Magic - Basic: Introduction and how-to’s for Roots Magic. Learn ways to help  organize your research and your genealogy database.  What is new in Roots Magic.

Ancestry.com: Learn tricks and tips for how Ancestry.com can help you in your research.

FamilySearch FamilyTree: Introduction to the FamilySearch.org web site and Family Tree for Family History research.


Family History Center: Visit the Family History Center to see what help is available. Try out tools that can help you in your researching.
Indexing Demonstration: Type what you see in records on the screen to make them electronically searchable. Anyone, any age can do it in 5 to 30 minutes. Help others to find their ancestors.

Using Census Records: How to get more than the obvious out of census records. Use clues in the census to gain other researching leads.

Foreign Research

Danish Research: How to find Danish relatives and ancestors.

German Research:  Demonstration of Skype for collaboration with Germany to research German ancestors.

Czech Research: How to find Czech relatives and ancestors.

British Isles Research: Instructor via live Skype will teach tips and techniques for researching your British Isles ancestors.

Using Technology

Scanning, Submitting Docs & Photos: How and where to save family information to share with others. How to store your stories and photos.

Googling: Learn tips and tricks for using Google search to find information about your ancestors.

Evernote: Bring your life's work together in one digital workspace. Evernote is the place to collect inspirational ideas, write meaningful words, and move your important data.

DNA: Learn about “his” and “her” and autosomal DNA heredity to help you focus your family history research.

Web Site Helps: Learn about a variety of helpful web sites for beginning to advanced researchers.

Social Networking: How to assist others and enable them to help you. Ways to use to connect and to collaborate.

Roots Magic - Intermediate: More in depth training in using the tools and techniques in Roots Magic. More tips and tricks to speed your research. Review WHAT IS NEW in Roots Magic.

Apps for Phones, Tablets: Great phone, tablet and iPad applications for Family History work.

Databases Comparisons: Legacy, Ancestral Quest - learn how they are alike and how they are different


                                          Symposium 2015 Poster

Symposium 2015 Flyer        Symposium 2015 Schedule       Symposium 2015 Descriptions


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2015, at 12:16.
  • This page has been accessed 7,305 times.