Cenarth, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCenarth

A guide to genealogy in Cenarth, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Cenarth is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish on the Afon Teifi in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

KENARTH (CENARTH), a parish, in the union of NEWCASTLE-EMLYN, higher division of the hundred of ELVET, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES; comprising the market and post-town of Newcastle-Emlyn, from which the church is distant 2 1/2 miles (W.N.W.). This parish is beautifully situated on the river Teivy, over which the turnpike-road from Carmarthen to Cardigan is here carried by a stone bridge; and comprises by admeasurement 6420 acres, which are almost wholly inclosed and in a good state of cultivation, and of which about 400 are woodland, and the remainder two-thirds arable and one-third pasture. A considerable number of cattle are bred in the parish, and the other produce comprises chiefly corn, butter, and cheese. Near the church is the celebrated salmon leap on the river Teivy. The church, dedicated to St. Llawddog, is a neat edifice, about 50 feet long and 25 broad, containing 230 sittings. A church has recently been erected at Newcastle-Emlyn. The Independent and Calvinistic Methodists have each a place of worship, in addition to the meeting-houses for dissenters in Newcastle-Emlyn. There are five day schools in the parish.[1]

For more information on Cenarth see Cenarth at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2014, at 21:51.
  • This page has been accessed 646 times.