Chaceley, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chaceley, Worcestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Chaceley, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Chaceley, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pershore
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Tewkesbury PLU
Registration District Tewkesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powyke
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHASELEY, or CHACELEY, a parish in the district of Tewkesbury, and county of Worcester; on the river Severn, 3 miles SW of Tewkesbury r. station. Post town, Tewkesbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chaceley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
CHACELEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1753 1538-1753 1538-1812 1538-1812
PRTS
1540-1714, 1755-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464212.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 04 October 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 June 2015, at 15:53.
  • This page has been accessed 2,632 times.