Chaddesden, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chaddesden, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Chaddesden, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chaddesden, Derbyshire
Chaddesden St Mary Derbyshire.jpg
Chaddesden St Mary Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow PLU
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1718
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ockbrook
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHADDESDEN (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Appletree, locally in that of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 2½ miles (E.) from Derby. [1] .

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241287.


Church records

Chaddesden parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Chaddesden Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 3259 has deposited registers Bap 1718-1951 Mar 1718-1950 Burials 1718-1931 Banns 1946-1981

Chaddesden St Philip Taddington Road Parish formed out of part of St Mary consecrated 1955

Derbyshire Record Office referenceD3334 has deposited registers Bap 1955-1963 Mar 1956-1968 Banns 1956-1991

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Shardlow

Chaddesden became part of Derby registration district in 1968

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chaddesden on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 29 April 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,515 times.