Chadwell St Mary, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chadwell St Mary, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Chadwell St Mary, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chadwell St Mary, Essex
Chadwell St Mary.jpg
Chadwell St Mary
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barstable
County Essex
Poor Law Union Orsett
Registration District Orsett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Orsett
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Chadwell St. Mary, is a parish in Orsett district, Essex; on the Thames, and on the Tilbury and Southend railway, it is 2 miles E of Grays railway station, and 2 1/2 miles S of Orsett.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chadwell St Mary, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
EOPC = Essex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
ESSEX = Essex Ancestors - (£)[4]
Chadwell St Mary, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1578-1800
EOPC 1687-1750
ESSEX 1539-1938 1578-1947 1578-1924
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241360.


Poor Law Unions

Orsett Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Chadwell St Mary on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: Date Accessed 10 May 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. Essex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 4 September 2014.
  4. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 February 2016, at 05:49.
  • This page has been accessed 4,497 times.