Chandlings Farm, BerkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Chandlings Farm

Guide to Chandlings Farm, Berkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

CHANDLINGS, an extra-parochial district, in the union of Abingdon, hundred of Hormer, county of Berks, 3 miles (N. by E.) from Abingdon. [1]

Chandlings Farm, also known as 'Chandlings', is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. See Genuki.org.uk for additional information on this parish. This parish was abolished 1 April 1900 and incorporated into the parish of Radley.

Resources

Civil Registration

This area is part of the Abingdon Registration District.

Church Records

Genuki has some information on their site regarding parish records. There are no specific church records in the FamilySearch catalog at this time. Additionally there are no registers listed at the Berkshire Record Office.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 24101.


Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scorll down in the article to the section 'Court Jurisdictions by Parish'.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

Berkshire Family History Society

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 01 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:23.
  • This page has been accessed 433 times.