Charlecote, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Charlecote, Warwickshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.pngWarwickshire Parishes

Charlecote, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kington
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1851 - Court of the Peculiar of Hampton Lucy; Post-1850 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office


Parish History

Charlcote (St. Leonard), is a parish, in the union of Stratford-on-Avon, the Warwick division of the hundred of Kington, and the county of Warwick, it is 4½ miles E N from Stratford. The parish is bounded on the west by the river Avon.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Charlecote, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Charlecote, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910 1754-1910 1754-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Accessed November 20, 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 26 August 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2015, at 14:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,969 times.