Charlotte County, Virginia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Charlotte County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Charlotte County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Charlotte County Virginia Courthouse
Charlotte County Courthouse
125 David Bruce Avenue
P.O. Box 38
Charlotte Court House, VA 23923-0038
County Clerk has birth and death records 1853-1870
Marriage, probate court and land records from 1765 and divorce records
Charlotte County Virginia History
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-18721
- Heinegg, Paul. "Charlotte County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1813," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
- [Williams] Southerland, Henry deLeon. "Williams Family Bible, Charlotte and Mecklenburg Counties, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):311-312. FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Charlotte County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Charlotte County:
- Tombstone Transcription Project Charlotte County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
For tips on accessing Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
- Bureau of the Census, Heads of Families at the first Census of the United States taken in the Year 1790. Viewable online as a .pdf. Because the 1790 census had been destroyed, the Census Bureau created the Virginia report from census substitutes from similar time periods. This document contains a list for Charlotte County in the year 1782. Begins on page 13.
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
- Hamner, Sharon B. "Baptisms and Burials, Church of Our Saviour Parish Register, Charlottesville, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):83-87; Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1979):175-177. FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Ash Camp (1803). Church minutes (1813-1870) have been filmed: FHL Film 30816. Cemetery database at Find A Grave. (487+ graves).
- Cubb Creek aka Cub Creek (1771). A history was published in 1967: Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 6 (1967).
- Midway. Meeting minutes and membership lists (1833-1867) have been filmed: FHL Film 986448.
- Mossingford (1785)
- Sandy Creek (1785)
- Staunton River (1804)
The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.
Charlotte County fell within the bounds of the Appomattox Association, the Meherrin Association, and the Roanoke Association.
Church of England
See also Cornwall Parish
- Library of Virginia, Chancery Records Index (and images). Fully indexed. Allows searching by county, plaintiff, defendant, and surname. Search is exact spelling only. The Chancery Court records for Charlotte County have been scanned and are viewable as .pdf files.
- 1786-1809 - Charlotte County Virginia Order Book Extracts Books 7 to 16 (VAGenWeb)
More than 125 genealogies have been published about Charlotte County families. To view a list, visit Charlotte County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
- Eggleston, J. D. Distinguished Descendants of Colonel Clement Read and Bushy Forest and Other Charlotte County Homes of the Early Reads: Two Addresses. unknown: unknown, 1932. Digital version available at Ancestry ($).
- List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database.
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 1 British alien living in Charlotte County.
Land and Property
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins. 528 patents dated 1731-1835 in what is now Charlotte County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2010. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
- Carrington, John Cullen. Charlotte County, Virginia: Historical, Statistical, and Present Attractions. Hermitage Press, 1907. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books (full-view).
Detail View of Charlotte County
The Library of Congress, American Memory website contains two beautifully detailed maps of Charlotte County from the 1860's. Both show rivers, creeks, and some landowners names. Viewable online or downloadable in jpeg2000 format.
- Hotchkiss map collection No. 289: Map of Charlotte County, Virginia / by Jed. Hotchkiss, Top. Eng.
- Gilmer map collection: Map of Charlotte County, Va. Made under the direction of Maj. A.H. Campbell Chief Topl. Departm't. by Lieut. C.E. Cassell C.S. Engineers. Sept. 15, 1864.
- Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1976):199-208; Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):113-118. FHL Collection; digital version at New England Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Charlotte County's 1787-1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:31-34; the 1789 Delinquent List appears on 21:118.]
- Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition: FHL Collection; 1983 reprint: FHL Collection; 1990-1992 reprints: FHL Collection. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Charlotte County to other parts of the country.]
French and Indian War
- Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Charlotte County veterans; see place name index.]
- Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Charlotte County militia officers 1767-1774; see place name index.]
Regiments. Service men in Charlotte County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Charlotte County supplied soldiers for the:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Charlotte County on page 129.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812
Charlotte County men served in the 26th Regiment.
- Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Charlotte County.]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Charlotte County, p. 67.]
Regiments. Charlotte County men most often served in regiments (and companies) from their home county. At times, however, individuals and small groups can be found serving in regiment from neighboring counties. Later in the war, Confederate units often reorganized.
Men from Charlotte County can be found in the following regiments:
- - 1st Regiment, Virginia Infantry Reserves (Confederate). Company B (Home Guard)
- - 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company K (Albemarle Light Horse)
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Charlotte Cavalry).
- - 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Charlotte Rifles).
- - 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Red House Volunteers).
- - 22nd Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- - 23rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Keysville Guards).
- - 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Randolph Guard) - Page 227 of FHL book 975.565 H2a only casually mentions this regiment. Therefore, it is possible that only its commander was from Charlotte County.
- - 56th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies G (Charlotte Defenders) and I (Charlotte Grays).
- - Staunton Hill, Virginia Artillery (Confederate), was formed, equipped and initially commanded by Captain Charles Bruce and later commanded by Captain A. B. Paris. This company is reported as having been composed of three sections, 1st, 2nd, 3rd with the 3rd section serving in North Carolina while the other two served in Savannah, Georgia. Further into the war, possibly became Co. B, 2nd Regiment, Virginia Artillery and much later possibly Company B, 22nd Battalion Virginia Infantry.
- Information about the history of the companies from Charlotte County can be found in:
- -Charlotte County, Rich Indeed, pp. 222-249 and muster rolls on pp. 476-484 FHL book 975.565 H2a
- - Muster roll for Charlotte County on microfilm FHL film 1939964 item 1
- -A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations 1861-1865, FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Charlotte County.
- June 25, 1864 = Staunton River Bridge, also known as Blacks and Whites or Old Men and Young Boys
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
A free index to Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1765-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia website.
- Digital Images of Charlotte county Wills 1765-1791; 1791-1805. See names of testators. Virginia Pioneers
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Charlotte County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1963):115-117. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
- [1782-1813] Heinegg, Paul. "Charlotte County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1813," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
-  Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Online at FamilySearch - free; FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Charlotte County is included in Vol. 1.]
- [1787-1789] Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1976):199-208; Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):113-118. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Charlotte County's 1787-1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:31-34; the 1789 Delinquent List appears on 21:118.]
- [1790, 1800] Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Charlotte County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
-  "Charlotte County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):110-116; Vol. 15, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1971):166-173. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Charlotte County is included in Vol. 2.]
Indexes to Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Beth Fridley has published the following databases online through Ancestry:
- Charlotte County, Virginia Births, 1860-74 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Charlotte County, Virginia Births, 1875-78 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Charlotte County, Virginia Births, 1879-82 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Charlotte County, Virginia Births, 1883-96 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1782-1900 - Charlotte County Marriage Index 1782-1900. Batch M868736 at FamilySearch - free.
- Macdonald, Margaret T. "Beware of the Charlotte County, Virginia, Marriage Bonds: The Featherston Family," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1979):3-7. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Vital Record Substitutes
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Charlotte Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List
- Virginia Pioneers Virginia Pioneers ($)
Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Charlotte City County, Virginia. Page 712 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ USGS Map, Topozone.com
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 272. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- ↑ Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- ↑ E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 71. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
- ↑ J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 27. Digitized by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 67. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- ↑ Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
- ↑ James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
- ↑ Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
- ↑ Thomas M. Rankin, 23rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 14.
- ↑ William A. Young Jr. and Patricia C. Young, 56th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 63.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2016, at 01:52.
- This page has been accessed 124,327 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News