Charlottesville, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Charlottesville, Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|— Independent City —|
|For additional records, see Albemarle County.|
For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Charlottesville, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Charlottesville:
- Maplewood Cemetery
- Oakwood Cemetery
- Riverview Cemetery
- University Cemetery
Indexes (1889-1939) and images (1889-1926) to Charlottesville, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.
Civil War records for Charlottesville were kept by the city.
- 1855-1880 - Jeffersonian Republican (Charlottesville, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Charlottesville silversmiths.]
- 1888-1929 - Virginia Marriages 1851-1929 (Ancestry) ($).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ USGS Map, Topozone.com
- ↑ "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
- ↑ Kenneth Scott. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979, 320-333. FHL Collection 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
|This Virginia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 30 January 2015, at 02:05.
- This page has been accessed 14,779 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News