Chattooga County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chattooga County, Georgia)

United States  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Chattooga County

Guide to Chattooga County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Chattooga County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Chattooga County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 28, 1838
County Seat Summerville
Address Chattooga County Courthouse
PO Box 211
Summerville, GA 30747-0211
Phone: 706.857.0700
Chatooga County


County Courthouse

Chattooga County Courthouse
PO Box 211
Summerville, GA 30747-0211
Phone: 706.857.0700

Clerk Court has divorce records from early 1900’s and court records.  Clerk Office has birth, marriage death, burial and probate records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
10035 Commerce Street
P.O. BOX 159
Summerville, GA 30747
Phone: (706) 857-0706

Probate Court of Chattooga County
P.O. Box 467
Summerville, GA 30747
Phone: (706) 857-0709

Beginning Dates for Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate


1838--Chattooga County was formed from parts of Floyd and Walker Counties. The county seat is Summerville.

Parent County

1838--Chattooga County was created 28 December 1838 fromFloyd and Walker Counties.
County seat: Summerville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported damage.[3]


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cherokee County  • De Kalb County  • Floyd County  • Gordon County  • Walker County

Chattooga CountyFloyd CountyPolk CountyPaulding CountyCobb CountyBartow CountyCherokee CountyPickens CountyGordon CountyGilmer CountyMurray CountyWhitfield CountyCatoosa CountyWalker CountyDade CountyJackson CountyDeKalb CountyCherokee CountyCleburne CountyCalhoun CountyEtowah CountyMarshall CountyGAChattooga.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.


Beersheba Presbyterian Church, Summerville

  • 1853-1885 - Beersheba Presbyterian Church, Summerville, Baptism Index 1853-1885. Batch C712461 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1853-1895 - Beersheba Presbyterian Church, Summerville, Marriage Index 1853-1895. Batch M712461 at FamilySearch - free.[4]



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) ,  Company B
- 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company A
- 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- 39th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other war's information is also given)

  • Griffith, Jessie June Brandon. 1985. 1870 census and mortality schedules of Chattooga County, GA.: plus Confederate soldier information, where they enlisted, fought and where they died. Rossville, Ga: J.B. Griffith. (page 69) FHL 455108
  • Chattooga County (Georgia). Superior Court Clerk. 1963. Veterans of Civil and European wars, 1861-1960. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 337228



Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records

Marriage records can be found as far back as 1836.  Those prior to 1838 were probably recorded by ministers who recorded them after the fact.

Death Records
  • 1849-50, 1869-70 - Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Chattooga County Historical Society
200 S. Commerce St
Summerville, Georgia, 30747
Facebook page

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chattooga County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 19. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 November 2015, at 21:01.
  • This page has been accessed 20,906 times.