Cheadle Hulme All Saints, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Cheadle Hulme All Saints, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport
Registration District Stockport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1869
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Cheadle Hulme All Saints was created as a parish from the Ancient parish of  Cheadle St Mary's Created as separate parish from 1868, serving parts of the townships of Cheadle Bulkeley, Cheadle Moseley and Stockport Etchells.

The Domesday Book provides the earliest mention of the area, where it is recorded as "Cedde", Celtic for "wood". A stone cross dedicated to the Anglo-Saxon St Chad, discovered in 1873, indicates Anglo-Saxon activity. The cross was found in an area called "Chad Hill", on the banks of the Micker Brook near its confluence with the River Mersey; this area became "Chedle". Suggestions for the origin of the name include the words cedde, and leigh or leah, in Old English meaning "clearing", forming the modern day "Cheadle". "Holme" may have been derived from the Danish word for "water meadow" or "island in the fen".

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.


Church Records

Cheadle Hulme All Saints, Cheshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[1]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
CHEADLE HULME BROMLEY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI



1864-2000
PR's
 NONE
 NONE
1869-1934
 NONE
 NONE
 NONE

Cheadle-Hulme was a chapel-of-ease in Cheadle St Mary parish.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Cheadle-Hulme, 1869-1935 Cheshire Record Office reference: P268/1.

Parish Registers: Cheadle-Hulme
Film
Marriages, 1869-1935 FHL BRITISH Film
2104410 Item 13

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Stockport (1837-1930)

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts
  • Stockport

registration events may be searched online at  Cheshire BMD

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cheadle Hulme All Saints on GENUKI

Bibliography

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 January 2016, at 03:38.
  • This page has been accessed 2,622 times.