Chell, Staffordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chell, Staffordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire

Contents

Parish History

Chell St Michael was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1925 from Newchapel, Staffordshire

CHELL, a township, in the parish of Wolstanton, union of Wolstanton and Burslem, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 2 miles (N.) from Burslem; containing 737 inhabitants. It is divided into two townsteads, called Great and Little Chell, containing 740 acres: coal-mines are wrought on the confines. The village, which is seated on an eminence, and on the road from Newcastle to Congleton, is chiefly occupied by potters. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists. The workhouse for the parishes of Wolstanton and Burslem, lately erected here, is a fine capacious structure of gabled architecture. At Turnhurst, in the township, James Brindley, the eminent engineer, died in 1772.

From: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 562-569. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50869 Date accessed: 23 April 2011.

The mission church of Chell Heath, Church of the Saviour was organised from this parish

Chell Heath Church of the Saviour

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

No deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office registers from 1925 are with the incumbent for both parish and mission church.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Poor Law Unions

The parish was formed in 1925 refer to Newchapel, Staffordshire for Poor Law information.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:40.
  • This page has been accessed 961 times.