Chelmorton, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chelmorton, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Chelmorton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chelmorton, Derbyshire
Chelmorton St John the Baptist Derbyshire.jpg
Chelmorton St John the Baptist Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buxton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

CHELMERTON,or Chelmorton a chapelry, in the parish and union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 4¼ miles (S. W. by S.) from Tideswell. There are meeting-houses Wesleyans and Presbyterians[1].


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chelmorton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Chelmorton Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1860-1912

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Chelmorton St John the Baptist part of the parish transferred to King Sterndale, Derbyshire in 1851

Derbyshire Record Office reference D2423 has deposited registers Bap 1587-1706, 1714-1991 Mar 1587-1706, 1714-1835 1838-1996 Burial 1587-1706, 1714- 1991 Banns 1928-1991

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.

Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Chelmorton on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 562-569. Date accessed: 01 July 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 20:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,946 times.