Chelmsford, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chelmsford, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Chelmsford, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chelmsford, Essex
Cathedral Chelmsford Essex.jpg
Cathedral Chelmsford Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chelmsford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Chelmsford PLU
Registration District Chelmsford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chelmsford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHELMSFORD (St. Mary), is a market-town and a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Chelmsford, the S. division of Essex, of which it is the chief town, it is 29 miles (N. E. by E.) from London, on the road to Yarmouth; containing, with the hamlet of Moulsham. Chelmsford is near the Eastern Counties railway, and this railway has a station here. A chapel has been erected at Moulsham. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, Irvingites, the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chelmsford, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[4]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives - (£)[5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
Chelmsford, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1813-1836


BOYD

1539-1837


ESSEX
1538-1960
1538-1957
1538-1894
FAMR

1539-1837


FREG 1756-1786




FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
IGI 1539-1812
1540-1753


NBI



1538-1891
PALL

1790-1837


For other churches in Chelmsford see the following pages:

Chelmsford All Saints

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241364.


Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chelmsford on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: Date Accessed 10 May 2013
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  4. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  5. 'Essex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  6. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  7. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 April 2015, at 15:08.
  • This page has been accessed 7,403 times.