Cherokee County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Cherokee County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Cherokee County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Cherokee County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Cherokee County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 30, 1855
County Seat Columbus
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Cherokee County Courthouse
110 W. Maple Street
Columbus, Kansas 66725-0014
Phone: 620.429.3880


Contents

County Courthouse

Cherokee County Courthouse
110 W. Maple
Columbus, KS 66725
Phone: 620.429.3880

Formerly McGee Co. Name changed to Cherokee 18 Feb 1860
Register of Deeds has land records from 1866,
Probate Court has probate records from 1870.
County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records. [1]

History

Parent County

1855--Cherokee County was created 30 August 1855 from unorganized territory. County seat: Columbus [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Kscherokee.jpg

Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cherokee County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Cherokee County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Kansas
  • Cherokee County was organized after the Civil War.

Men from this County enlisted in 1st Infantry Regiment, Company A.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cherokee County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Cherokee and click Probate records.

Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cherokee County, Kansas 249 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 February 2014, at 00:15.
  • This page has been accessed 5,946 times.