Chester Cathedral, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Chester Cathedral
Chester Cathedral from north.JPG

Contents

Parish History

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for the Cathedral Church, Chester, 1687-1981 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDD 3913/12/1-3,5, EDD 3913/6-7.

Parish Registers: Cathedral Church, Chester Film
Baptisms and marriages, 1687-1718; burials, 1687-1721. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1735-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1935. Burials, 1863-1896.
1655854 Items 8 - 11
Marriages, 1869-1981. Banns of marriages, 1873-1940.
2068902 Items 4 - 5

Chester Cathedral (C of E). Dedicated to St. Werburgh. Registers of Baptisms 1688–1958, Marriages 1688–1754 & 1869–1998 and Burials 1688–1896 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 50

Bishop's transcripts: Cathedral Church, Chester FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1813-1815, burials, 1816 BRITISH 1647368 Item 2
Baptisms, 1855, 1857-1876 BRITISH 1647368 Item 3

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage a nd death indexes available:

Poor Law Unions

  • Chester

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 699 times.