Chester St Michael, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chester St Michael, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Chester St Michael

St Michael Chester-2.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Chester, St. Michael, Bridge Street. An ancient parish church serving part of the city centre; closed in 1973

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for St. Michael's Church, Chester, 1581-1951 Cheshire Record Office call reference: P 65/1/1-2, P 65/2/1-4, P 65/3/1-4, P 65/4/1-2, P 65/5

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1581-1951. Marriages, 1581-1837. Burials, 1581-1815. BRITISH 2045915 Items 2 - 9
Marriages, 1837-1941. Banns, 1823-1901. Burials, 1813-1848 BRITISH 2045916 Items 1 - 5


Bishop's transcripts for St. Michael's Church, Chester and St. Olave's Church, Chester, 1600-1876

Some text in Latin. Includes St. Olave's Church for 1876. Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 57

 

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1601, 1604, 1611, 1613-1615, 1622, 1624, 1627-1635, 1637, 1639-1642, 1661, 1663, 1666-1677, 1679-1685, 1690-1691, 1693-1714, 1716-1737, 1739-1743, 1746, 1748-1816, 1828-1829, 1831-1839. Baptisms, 1868, 1876. BRITISH 1655539 Item 2
Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,230 times.