Chester St Olave, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Chester St Olave

Contents

Parish History

Chester St Olave is an Ancient Parish in the city. St Olave's in Chester is one of the city's most interesting churches. It was dedicated to the King of Norway, St. Olaf, who died in 1030 and is an example of the Scandinavian influence in Chester.  

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for St. Olave's Church, Chester, 1611-1861 Cheshire Record Office reference: P64/1/1-3, 2, 3/1-4, 4.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1611-1849.  Baptisms, marriages, 1849-1861. BRITISH 1999758 Items 4 - 12

Bishop's transcripts for St. Olave's Church, Chester, 1599-1846 Some text in Latin.Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 58

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop's Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599-1602, 1604, 1606, 1614, 1617-1618, 1622, 1624-1625, 1629-1630, 1632, 1638-1640, 1668-1677, 1679-1686, 1691, 1693-1822, 1824, 1826-1830, 1832-1834. Baptisms, burials, 1823, 1825, 1835-1846. BRITISH 1655539 Item 3
Non-Conformist Churches

Census records



Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Chester Poor Law Union

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 645 times.